Glacier FarmMedia COVID-19 & the Farm

Alberta’s ALMA names advisory committees

The Alberta Livestock and Meat Agency has tapped into the province’s livestock and meat production talent pool for advisory committees to guide the agency’s work.

“When I announced the strategy and the creation of ALMA, I promised
that industry would remain the driver,” provincial Agriculture Minister George Groeneveld said Wednesday in announcing the new committees.

“The advisory committee members possess a great deal of knowledge
and will help ensure the success of our livestock and meat industry.”

The five new committees are: cattle producers, beef processors, the pork value chain, the diversified livestock sector and “innovation and further value-added.”

Committee members hail from all sectors of the province’s livestock and meat processing industries and include notables such as Canadian Pork Council president Jurgen Preugschas and Grainews columnist and rancher Christoph Weder.

ALMA, set up by the province starting in June last year, is intended to align and redirect government funds, resources and programs to “revitalize” the province’s livestock sector and help boost industry competitiveness and profitability, with market access among its priorities.

The new advisory committees are expected to “provide advice on issues facing industry, support the implementation of the Alberta Livestock and Meat Strategy and provide a forum for industry representatives to share information, while working within a positive and co-operative atmosphere.”

“The insight and experience of these respected committee members will enable us to develop and implement many important initiatives that will help create a more vibrant future for our industry,” ALMA board chairman Joe Makowecki said in the province’s release Wednesday.


Cattle producers

  • Bill Newton, Alberta Livestock Industry Development Fund
  • Bill Feenstra, Alberta Milk
  • Clay Gellhaus, Alberta Veterinarian Medical Association
  • Dave Plett, producer at large
  • Gary Smith, Alta Exports International
  • Herb Groenenboom, Alberta Cattle Feeders Association
  • Jennifer Stewart-Smith, producer at large
  • Leighton Kolk, producer at large
  • Reg Schmidt, Feeders Association of Alberta
  • Rick Burton, Alberta Beef Producers
  • Russel Pickett, Western Stock Growers Association

Beef processors

  • Brian Nilsson, Nilsson Bros. Inc.
  • Geoff Smolkin, West Coast Reduction Ltd.
  • Ray Price, Sunterra Meats
  • Scott Entz, Cargill

Pork value chain

  • Ben Woolley, Alberta Pork
  • Bryan Perkins, producer at large
  • Dan Majeau, Sturgeon Valley Pork
  • Don Brookbank, Olymel
  • Glenn Van Dijken, Western Hog Exchange
  • Herb Holoboff, Alberta Pork
  • Jurgen Preugschas, producer at large
  • Mark Wipf, Alberta Pork
  • Ray Price, Sunterra (Trochu)
  • Trevor Sears, Maple Leaf

Diversified livestock

  • Doug Milligan, producer at large
  • Florence Henning, Alberta Sheep and Wool Commission
  • Glenda Elkow, Alberta Elk Commission
  • Len Shandruk, Diversifed Livestock Fund of Alberta
  • Miles Kliner, Sunterra (Innisfail)
  • Myrna Coombs, Goat Breeders Association
  • Tom Olson, Bison Producers of Alberta

Innovation and further value-added

  • Bruce Smith, VAMP
  • Christoph Weder, Prairie Heritage Beef
  • Darryl Doell, Alberta Turkey Producers
  • Dave Kasko, XL Foods Grinding
  • Ed Rodenburg, Lilydale
  • Hans Kabat, Sun Valley Foods
  • James Ducs, Mountain Top Foods
  • Jean Beliveau, Premium Brands
  • Jeff Clark, Kitchen Partners
  • Karsten Nossack, Nossack Fine Meats
  • Kirsten Kotelko, Spring Creek Ranch
  • Peter Muhlenfeld, Champion Pet Food
  • Scott Weins, Alberta Chicken Producers
  • Tony Spiteri, New Food Classics
COPA Medallion COPA finalist in 2012, 2014 and 2015.
©2021 AGCanada is a production of Glacier FarmMedia Limited Partnership. Any affiliated or third party content is the property of its respective owner and is used with permission.
Please refer to Copyright Page for details.
Click here to view our Website Terms of Use.